Remove this ad

gwloar

hall of famer

Lead

04/17/12 04:02 PM

Tags : :

Okay guys, I have been playing 1948 for about two years now and religiously recording writeups, stats, etc. in anticipation of posting it here.  It will be coming in the next posting.  First some ground rules from 2012. 

First - all of my postings are written as if written in 1948.  I assume that I do not know what is coming, who will be good, or what will happen next.  If I "step out of context", I will let you know first.

Second - I m managing the same way.  I do know what happened in previous years.  I DO NOT know what is going to happen in 1948.  I pretend that I have not even seen the cards.  I manage based on performance on the field and past performance.  Rookies have to prove they belong (and I'm talking to you, Gene Bearden).  Veterans will get more slack if they slump.

Third - this started out as C&D for about 2 years.  Then Christmas of 2011, I got the computer version and made the switch.  It took 24 months to get to early June.  It has taken less than 4 months to reach August!  Quite a difference and you really can manage without looking at the cards.

Fourth - I have posted this over at Somers for about a year.  If you have followed over there, thanks.  Very little has changed when I post here.  I plan to post twice as fast here as there so that by the time the pennant race is in full swing, both sites will be at an equal point in the season.  So, no cheating and looking ahead if you are following it here!!

Finally, my format will be familiar to those who followed my all time AL league.  I post on a "dayley" basis.  Each posting is one day for a league.  I try to include the standings in every post to make the pennant race easier to follow.  I post league leaders at the end of each "week" - except for week one.   My aim is two posts per day until late in the season.